Christian Lifestyle, How To

How to watch a romance movie as a heartbroken Christian.

Annotation 2019-04-20 190303

Hello lovelies! Long time no write. Well, I’m going to get better at that. From now on, I promise at least one article/essay/write up a week. I’ll be trying for two, but I’m promising one for sure.

For today’s inspiration, I blame all the cute romance movies currently on Netflix. They’re adorable! From literary-inspired ‘To All The Boys I Loved Before’, to the lovably awkward ‘Sierra Burgess Is A Loser’, Noah Centineo has been making my heart spin in a multitude of roles.

What’s the downside? You ask.

I recently went through a breakup. And every romance movie I watch seems to scream at me about what should have happened, what could have happened, and what will never again happen to me.

So, what do I do?

I wrote a list. A list of steps – things to remember and do when I am watching unbearably cute romance movies. Things to keep me from wallowing in self-pity and self doubt. It’s been helpful, so I thought I’d share it with all of you. Maybe it’ll be helpful for you too.

 

How to watch a romance movie

as a heartbroken Christian.

 

Step 1.

Remember that not all love in life is romantic. And that not all romance leads to love. You can have plenty of fulfilling relationships without being romantically involved. You have also had some awful romances. Be thankful you’re not in an awful romance right now. Be thankful for all the platonic relationships you have that are filled with platonic love and support.

 

Step 2.

Just because you are alone now does not mean you will be alone forever. There are days coming in your life when you will be with someone. And days when you won’t. What’s important about this is the lesson that life circumstances change. It’s alright to feel lonely, just remember that it’s one chapter, not the whole book.

 

Step 3.

Get snacks – healthy or not, you deserve them.

 

Step 4.

You are whole all by yourself. You don’t need to be completed, saved or found worthy by someone else. You can do that on your own. Embrace who you are, what you love about yourself, and what you’re working on about yourself.

 

Step 5.

Drink a tall glass of water – you need and deserve this too.

 

Step 6.

Know that the Lord has a plan for you. If it’s your destiny to meet someone, you will. If it’s not His plan for you, you won’t. Know that there is no way any of us has the power to disrupt God’s plans. We can rest assured and secure that He sees and provides for us always. Through any season, whether we’re with someone or not.

 

Step 7.

Remember that God’s love surpasses all. His love for us is beyond understanding, never diminishing, and unconditional. Rest in that love. Know that the creator of the ocean and the stars earnestly loves you. It can be easy to get caught up in the sometimes-unsteady tangle of earthly love, and very hard to break free of our sorrow when that love falls apart. It’s important to remember that we have a Father who loves us through it all. We never walk alone, for He is always with us. Focus on that love, and you will never be without.

Leave a comment