Cross Canada Adventure – Timberland Trading Post

May 25, 2014

Timberland Trading Post, Manitoba – 6:00 a.m.

For the record, I googled this place and couldn’t find it. It was literally this general store called “Timberland Trading Post” with a road running off to the side and nothing else. So yeah, pretty middle of nowhere.

My friend Dave’s stop is here. He’s a cowboy hat-wearing missionary who used to like in Venezuela and New Guinea. He taught me how to count to ten in Pigeon (a language spoken in New Guinea comprising of elements from English, French, German, and other languages). WE stayed up until midnight talking and swapping stories. It was lots of fun, and made me think of some other globe-crawling friends who love to swap stories.

While we were talking, I ate a whole container of coconut chunks, and now I can’t think of them without feeling nauseous.

Last night’s stop in Terrace Bay ended up not happening – rather confusing. But we stopped in Thunder Bay earlier on in the afternoon. Our stop was two hours long, so I walked to the super Wal-Mart and stocked up on food. It looks fun – I’m excited to live there.

Leave a Reply

