Cross Canada Adventure – Calgary

May 23, 2014

Calgary, Alberta, 12:30 p.m.

Wow – I’m doing this. I’m going to be so sleep deprived, but I’m doing this. I boarded at 8:00 a.m. in Edmonton, got into Calgary at 11:30 a.m., and we’re just leaving Calgary now at 12:30.

I like Calgary – it’s a real city (sorry, Edmonton). It’s refreshing and invigorating to be in one again. I’ve seen Calgary tower, and we drove through China Town. I saw The Lunchbox Theater, which I’ve heard of, and the Engineer Air Theater. And there’s a huge building where the whole thing is a shelter and help center for the homeless – it’s inspiring.

There’s the river, of course, and all the repairs that are still being done after last spring’s flood. We had seen it in the news; but it’s hard to put something like that into perspective if you aren’t there yourself. Being in the city, and seeing how there are still trees in the river, and all the  repairs that are still going on almost a year later, really made me realize how much havoc was wreaked. We’re lucky in Canada that we don’t get a lot of natural events of a destructive nature (somehow natural disaster didn’t seem quite right). And we’re luckier still that we have at our disposal the technology, finances, and willing volunteers that make recovering from events like these possible. It makes me think of other places where similar – or worse, things have happened. Where are the follow-up stories to all these disaster specials I keep seeing on the news? There hasn’t been one for Calgary that I’ve seen, and granted I did say natural disaster wasn’t quite the right term, but shouldn’t we as Canadians be concerned about the recovery of our fellow Canadians? And while we’re at t, shouldn’t we, as citizens of a larger world, be concerned about the recovery of the rest of it?

I guess I’m on my way now – this bus doesn’t stop until Toronto. Well, it’s an adventure!

Leave a Reply

